Church News: Crew Profile

This month I was featured in the Mercy Ships Church Newsletter under the Crew Profile section. It was such a privilege to be interviewed and able to share about serving on board.

Why did you volunteer with Mercy Ships?
The Bible says in Isaiah 61 that we are sent to bind up the broken-hearted, to proclaim freedom for the captives. For me, volunteering for Mercy Ships is about offering our skills and experience to help. Having worked in the NHS, I understand the basic right to free healthcare, regardless of where you live. Globally five billion people don’t have access to safe surgical care. Mercy Ships also contribute by training medical staff and mentoring surgeons.

How did you first hear about Mercy Ships? 
At Frenzy, a Christian music conference. I always wanted to work in medical missions overseas, but thought you had to be a doctor or nurse. When I told them I was a radiographer, the lady at the table said “we need YOU!” At that moment I knew where my life would eventually lead.  Everything I have done since first discovering Mercy Ships in 2006 has been in preparation to come and serve onboard long-term.

A moment that has impacted you?
I will always remember Mariatou. She was a patient who I met while onboard in Guinea in 2013. Noma is a gangrenous infection which destroys facial tissue. Mariatou had lost her nose to this infection. Normally, at home, it would have been treated by antibiotics, but she didn’t have access to a doctor. Dr Gary Parker was able to operate and create her a new nose from a skin graft. It was such a remarkable transformation!

What is it like to live onboard the Africa Mercy?
I grew up in a small town, where you know everyone so it feels very much like home for me. I really like being part of an international community where everyone brings different stories and traditions. You get to know people very quickly.

How can we be praying for you?
Professionally – Based on the CT scans, sometimes the patients are told, “No, we cannot help you, we cannot offer you surgery”, or “the condition you have is incurable”. Patients then receive pastoral support, but it can still be very hard for the Radiographers onboard. Personally – please pray I would continue to lead the Radiology team well – to provide Diagnostic Images that assist the Surgeons in their pre-op planning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment